President Tinubu Appoints Chief Wole Olanipekun, SAN As UNILAG Pro-Chancellor

President Bola Tinubu has appointed a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Chief Wole Olanipekun, as Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the University of Lagos (UNILAG).

A former Minister of Budget and Economic Planning Udoma Udo Udoma was appointed as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman of Bayero University, Kano, Kano State.

Also, a former Governor of Bauchi State, Isa Yuguda leads the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN).

Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Didi Esther Walson-Jack, in a statement, disclosed that the inauguration and retreat of the Councils would be held on May 30 and 31, 2024.

Also, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Yusuf Ali, was named as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman, the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State.

A former Executive Secretary of National Universities Commission (NUC) Professor Emeritus Peter Okebukola as well as Dr. Abiodun Layonu head the University of Port Harcourt and University of Benin Governing Councils respectively.

Similarly, chairmen of boards of polytechnics include: HRH Arc. Ezeogo Ewa Elechi (Federal Polytechnic, Ugep, Cross River State), Salisu Kallamu (Federal Polytechnic, Oko, Anambra State), Ekem Okeke (Federal Polytechnic, Orogun, Delta State), Sir Paul C. Chukwuma (Federal Polytechnic Kabo, Kano State), Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi (Federal Polytechnic, Daura, Katsina State), Otunba Tajudeen Abioye (Yaba College of Technology, Lagos State), Prof Erik Omogbai (Federal Polytechnic Bida, Niger State) among others.

For colleges of education, the immediate past Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, David Andrew Adejo heads the Federal College of Education (Technical), Akoka, Lagos State as Chairman.

Meanwhile, a renowned labour leader, Comrade Isa Aremu pilots affairs as Chairman of the Governing Board of Federal College of Education (Tech), Keana, Nasarawa State.

Also in the list is Sen. Binta Masi (Federal College of Education, Iditep, Akwa Ibom State), Prof. Isah Garba (Federal College of Education, Kontagora, Niger State), Sen. Emmanuel Anosike (Federal College of Education, Aha-Amufu, Enugu State) among others.