Osun 2022: Oyetola Wins APC Primary

Spread the love

The Governor of Osun State, Gboyega Oyetola on Saturday defeated the anointed candidate of the minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, Moshood Adeoti, to emerge winner of the All Progressives Congress election in the state.

The ruling party declared Oyetola as its candidate in the forthcoming election in the state.

Only three aspirants contested in the electoral process alongside the state Governor.

The aspirants included former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Lasun Yusuff and a former Secretary to the State Government, Moshood Adeoti.

The APC Primary Election Committee led by the Governor of Kwara State, Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq while announcing the result in the early hours of Sunday at the State’s APC secretariat in Osogbo, noted that 247,207 voters were accredited, while the total votes cast was 235,550.

The incumbent governor of the state defeated the candidate of the former Governor of the state with a wide margin of 222,169 votes to 12921, while Lasun polled 460 votes.

The chairman of the state chapter of the party, Gboyega Famodun while speaking lauded the Primary Election Committee for conducting credible polls.