CJN Swears In Election Petition Tribunal Members

Justice Olukayode Ariwoola
Spread the love

Ahead of the 2023 general election, the Chief Justice of the Federation (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola has sworn in members of the Election Petition Tribunal for the 2023 general elections.

The event took place at the National Judicial Institute (NJI) in Abuja, the country’s political capital today.

After giving the members of the Tribunal their oaths of office, the CJN warned the judicial officials not to take their duties lightly and warned that he will not stand for any type of judicial irresponsibility.

The exercise served as the beginning of a four-day course on capacity for the justices and Tribunal members, which will end on Thursday.

The Appeal Court created a case management system, which is a document that will serve as an extra guide, in order to prevent conflicting decisions by the Tribunals.

Also in attendance at the event include the President of the Appeal Court, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem; Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Mahmood Yakubu; as well as justices of the Court of Appeal.

Justice Dongban-Mensem admonished members of the Tribunal to be firm and law-abiding in the discharge of their duties, nothing that by the nature of their assignments, they will be exposed to temptations but they must be in total control of their thoughts.

The INEC chairman said the commission has been joined in at least 600 cases, arising from the recent conduct of party primaries.

Read Previous

Court Will Give Final Verdict On ASUU’s Withheld Salaries – Ngige

Read Next

Adeleke Holds Judiciary In High Esteem — Osun PDP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *