Vwaere Daiso: Installer Of Faulty Elevator In Police Custody – Lagos Govt

Spread the love

The installer of the malfunctioning elevator, which killed doctor Vwaere Daiso at the state’s General Hospital in Odan, has reportedly been handed over to the police, according to the Lagos State Government.

The death of Ms. Diaso, who was completing a one-year internship at the hospital and had just two weeks left in her program, had prompted Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu to launch an investigation.

The panel had a meeting with the representative of the installation business and the lift installer, according to a statement issued by Olumide Sogunle, the permanent secretary of the Ministry of Information and Strategy.

The installer was then handed to the police for questioning, according to the statement.

The deceased’s coworkers condemned the terrible situation on Wednesday, blaming the hospital.

Submission of findings
Highlighting the steps taken by the investigative panel, Mr Sogunle noted that a lift expert was invited to the accident scene to look at the lift and give a preliminary opinion, while other experts would now take the elevator out for a thorough mechanical and electrical examination.

“The panel was given 48 hours to conclude action, so it will submit a report of its initial findings on Saturday. And any other steps to be taken after that would be done by the appropriate authorities,” he said.

The statement added that the panel already met with the facility’s manager, management of the General Hospital, Lagos, and the Lagos State Infrastructure Asset Management Agency (LASIAMA), to unravel the circumstances surrounding the elevator accident.

The permanent secretary noted that six house officers and representatives of the medical associations were appointed as witnesses and as part of the panel.

He said the members of the panel include, “the Chairman of the Lagos State Health Service Commission (HSC), Permanent Secretary of the Health Service Commission, Director-General of the Safety Commission, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health; House officers and representatives of the medical associations.”