Tinubu Nominates 17 Persons Into NDDC Board, Seeks Reps Approval

President Bola Tinubu has formally sought House of Representatives confirmation for nominees to the Governing Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

The request, aligning with section 2(2) of the NDDC Act, was conveyed in a letter to Speaker Tajudeen Abbas and was presented during Tuesday’s plenary in Abuja.

Among the nominees is Mr. Chiedu Ebie, whom President Tinubu has nominated as the chairman, along with 16 other individuals for various positions on the NDDC board.

Others are – Mr. Boma Iyaye – Executive Director (Finance and Admin), Mr. Victor Antai – Executive Director (Projects), Mr. Ifedayo Abegunde – Executive Director (Corporate Services), and Senator Dimaro Denyanbofa (State Representative).

Others are – Mr. Abasi Nkono (State Representative), Hon. Monday Igbuya (State Representative), Chief Tony Okocha (State Representative), Patrick Aisowieren (State Representative), Mr. Kyrian Uchegbu (State Representative), Victor Kolade Akinjo (State Representative), Chief Dimgba Eruba (State Representative), and Mr Asu Oku Okang (State Representative).

The rest are – Hon. Nick Wende (Zonal Representative), Hon. Namdas Abdulrazak (Zonal Representative), and Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir (Zonal Representative).

The letter read: “The section stated that the board and management of NDDC would be appointed by the President and Commander-in-Chief-of the Armed Forces.

“This is however subject to the confirmation of the Senate in consultation with the House of Representatives.

“In compliance with the provisions of section 2(2) of the Niger Delta Development Commission (Establishment etc.) Act, I am pleased to present the underlisted seventeen (17) nominees for the consideration of the House of Representatives.

“This is for the positions of Chairman and members of the Governing Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission.

“While I look forward to the usual expeditious consideration of the House, please accept, Rt. Honourable Speaker, the assurances of my highest consideration.”