Sacked Kaduna Speaker, Liman Reelected As Speaker

Spread the love

Following his victory in Saturday’s by-election in the state, Yusuf Liman, the previously sacked Speaker of the Kaduna State House of Assembly, has been re-elected as Speaker of the state assembly. In the re-run election, Liman, representing the All Progressives Congress (APC), secured 18,068 votes, defeating Solomon Katuka of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who garnered 17,404 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Kaduna proceeded on Wednesday to present Certificates of Return to Liman and other winners of Saturday’s re-run polls and by-election in the state. Among those who received Certificates of Return were Haruna Barnabas (APC, Chawai State Constituency), Jesse Tanko (APC, Chikun State Constituency), and Nura Likoro (PDP, Kudan State Constituency).

Shortly after the swearing-in ceremony, Yusuf Liman was nominated and unanimously elected as the new Speaker of the State House of Assembly during a plenary session. Alongside three other members who emerged victorious in the recent Saturday by-election, Liman took the oath of office.

In his address to his colleagues, Liman expressed gratitude for the trust and support bestowed upon him by the lawmakers.

The new Speaker also pledged to collaborate with the executive arm of government for the growth and development of democracy and the state.

“Let us reaffirm our dedication to democracy, justice, and progress. Let us remember the power bestowed upon us by the people of Kaduna comes with a profound responsibility to uphold their interests and aspirations at all times,” he said.

Liman, who served as the speaker and represented the Makera constituency in the state assembly, returned to his previous position in the House after his election was nullified by the appeal court in Abuja in November 2023.

The court’s decision led to a mandated rerun in five units within the Makera