Kano: Tribunal Sacks NNPP Rep Member, Datti Umar, Returns APC’s Musa

The National and State House of Assembly Elections Petition Tribunal sitting in Kano State on Sunday nullified the election of Yusuf Umar Datti, the New Nigeria Peoples Party candidate for the Kura/Madobi/Garun Malam Federal Constituency.

The tribunal, headed by Justice Flora Ngozi Azingbe, voided Yusuf’s election over his failure to resign from his lecturing job at Bayero University, Kano, within 30 days before the election.

Justice Azingbe also held that Datti could not convince the tribunal that he was a member of the NNPP.

Following the decision, the tribunal declared Musa Ilyasu Kwankwaso of the All Progressives Congress as the rightful winner of the election.

Kwankwaso was a commissioner for Rural Development during the administration of former Governor Abdullahi Ganduje in Kano State