INEC Chairman Swears In 19 Resident Electoral Commissioners

inec 1
Spread the love

The Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Mahmood Yakubu on Thursday sworn in 19 newly appointed Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

At the venue of the event at the INEC headquarters in Abuja, Yakubu charged the newly sworn in RECs to devote their loyalty to Nigeria at all time and not to compromise the integrity of the commission.

He also deployed the 19 RECs to their geopolitical zones but outside their states of origin, in line with INEC’s regulation that forbids a commissioner from serving in his or her home state.

Five of the 19 RECs are returning commissioners who were reappointed by President Muhammadu Buhari and approved by the Senate.


Read Previous

Strike: Commercial Drivers, Lagos Government Meeting To Hold On Friday

Read Next

Court Orders Arrest of Nasarawa Works Commissioner Idris Mohammed Over Criminal Conspiracy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *