Buhari Inaugurates New INEC Commissioners

Spread the love

President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in six new National Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Those sworn-in were Mohammed Haruna (Niger State); Mrs Agbamuche Mbu (Delta); Okeagu Nnamdi (Abia); Major General Abubakar Alkali (Rtd.) (Adamawa); Professor Rada Gumus (Bayelsa); and Sam Elumeku (Ogun).

In attendance at the brief swearing-in ceremony, which took place at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja, were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, President of the Senate, Senator Ahmad Lawan and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila.

Also present at the inauguration ceremony were the Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; the Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari; the National Security Adviser (NSA), Major General Babagana Monguno (Rtd); and some of the Ministers scheduled to attend the weekly virtual Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.