Buhari Appoints 19 New INEC RECs

Buhari 1
Spread the love

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed 19 new Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs for the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Consequently, President Buhari has written the Senate to confirm the appointments of the 19 nominees.

The confirmation request to the upper chamber was contained in a letter dated July 25, 2022.

The letter was read at plenary by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday.

President Buhari, in the letter, said that the request for the confirmation of the nominees was in accordance with the Provisions of Section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

He explained that the nomination of five Resident Electoral Commissioners are for renewal, while the other fourteen are fresh appointments.

The nominees include: Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa – Renewal); Obo O. Effanga (Cross River – Renewal); Alh. Umar Ibrahim (Taraba – Renewal); Dr. Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun – Renewal); and Prof. Samuel E. Egwu (Kogi – Renewal).

Others are: Onyeka Pauline Ugochi (Imo); Prof. Muhammad Lawal Bashir (Sokoto); Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo); Amb. Zango Abdussamadu Abdu (Katsina); Mrs. Queen Elizabeth Agwu (Ebonyi); and Dr. Agundu Oliver Tersoo (Benue).